Latest Events

No current events.

Hauraki on Facebook

We Would love to hear from you.

We welcome your feedback, advice and any concerns you may have.

Please join us on facebook.

Hauraki Maori Trust Board

Шаблоны Joomla на
Здесь новыешаблоны dle

Hauraki Maori Trust Board


The Hauraki Maori Trust Board was borne out of a desire of the Hauraki people to use their collective strength as whanau, hapu, Iwi to effectively influence decisions being made about their future and environment. In the absence of legislation, which properly recognised the status of Iwi and their collective aspirations, Board was legislated under the Maori Trust Boards Act.


The kaupapa of the Hauraki Maori Trust Board is:-

"Building the Hauraki Nation, together"

The Board is committed to strengthening, enhancing, protecting and promoting the cultural, social, economic and political integrity of its people.


The Iwi of Hauraki represented on the Board are Ngai Tai, Ngati Hako, Ngati Hei, Ngati Maru, Ngati Paoa, Ngati Porou ki Harataunga ki Mataora, Ngati Pukenga ki Waiau, Ngati Rahiri Tumutumu, Ngati Tamatera, Ngati Tara Tokanui, Ngati Whanaunga, and Patukirikiri. These Iwi trace their origins to Tohora (the whale) and the fleet canoes of Tainui, Te Arawa, Mataatua and Matawhaorua.


The Board operates in Te Ika A Maui (Nth Island of Aotearoa/New Zealand) in a tribal region known as Hauraki. Our region is described by tribal elders as:-

Mai Matakana ki Matakana

From Matakana in the south to Matakana in the north

Click here for a map of the Hauraki tribal region.


The Hauraki Maori Trust Board comprises twelve members who together represent the twelve Hauraki Iwi and form the governing body. Elections are held every three years. David Taipari is the Kaiwhakahaere or Chairperson of the Board.

The Board runs core services and programmes from its Paeroa based office and has subsidiaries to manage the commercial interests of the Board. Other affiliates of the Board Group include the Hauraki Marine Development Trust, Nga Iwi FM and Te Korowai Hauora o Hauraki.

Board of Trustees